GCP Briefing

Here are a couple of issues we at GCP have been thinking about lately:

Report Cards and Parent Teacher Conferences: You should soon be hearing from your son’s school about how he is doing thus far in the school year (if you haven’t already). Parent Teacher conferences will be coming soon, and you need to be prepared for them. See our tips in the previous post “Getting the Most Out of Parent Teacher Conferences”, December 2, 2011, and check out the helpful grade specific parent teacher conference guides we focused on in “Education Nation: Parent’s Toolkit”, October 8, 2013.

American Promise: GCP has been posting about this film, which follows two African American boys’ educational journeys from K-12th grade, since its fundraising days. We had the chance to see it recently, and urge everyone to see it as soon as possible. This is a riveting film which presents interesting, complicated and difficult issues for parents and teachers to think about and discuss. Much more to come on this, but for now be sure to go to www.americanpromise.org and find a screening near you.

4 Comments

Filed under Academics

4 responses to “GCP Briefing

  1. Pretty great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to mention tat I have truly loved browsing your blog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I am hoping you write once more very soon!

  2. You’re so interesting! I do not believe I’ve read through anything like
    that before. So nice to discover another person with a
    few genuine thoughts on this subject matter. Really..
    thank you for starting this up. This site is one thing that’s needed on
    the internet, someone with a little originality!

  3. What’s Taking place i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found
    It positively helpful and it has helped me out loads. I hope
    to give a contribution & assist other users like its aided me.

    Good job.

  4. I needed to thank you for this good read!! I absolutely loved every bit of it.

    I have got you bookmarked to check out new things you post…